A tranquil spot in beautiful Bedfordshire countryside, The Star is a stone-built pub believed to date to the 15th century, tucked into the scenic village of Chalton, close to Luton and Dunstable.
Believed to have been built in the 15th century, The Star in Chalton is a handsome stone-built pub, which lies close to the spectacular timbered Gostelow House, a former farmhouse dating back over 400 years. Chalton itself is a village of unspoilt beauty, dotted with handsome timber homes, the traditional stone village stores, and winding lanes overlooking lushly green farmland. The attractive Chalton Village Hall sits at the heart of this attractive village, and just to the north, along the Luton Road from The Star pub is Toddington, a quiet town replete with white stone homes, unique local shops, and the tranquil fields which surround the winding , tree-lined Long Lane route.
A handsome, historic pub tucked into attractive Bedfordshire countryside, close to the stunning Chilterns AONB, The Star is a perfect location for enjoying delicious pub food. The scenic, historic setting makes the experience of sitting down for a relaxed Sunday lunch and a bottle of fine wine even more pleasant.Read more...
Believed to date in part from the 15th century, The Star pub is named in reference to the Star of Bethlehem, and its low beamed ceilings help retain the sense of medieval history inside the building. The site of the pub goes back a thousand years further, being first occupied during the Roman era, around 410 AD. The pub was extremely popular with strawplaiters, during the occupation’s 17th century peak, with the husbands, carrying heavy bundles of straw, coming into the pub for a refreshing jar of ale along their way. Local farmers, traveling to market, were also frequent customers, and this popular tavern has an unspoilt, relaxed character as does the village of Chalton as a whole.
The village of Chalton has a population of just 450, but a number of handsome and listed buildings which bely the size of this beautiful village. The timbered Grade II listed Goselaw House is a spectacular farmhouse dating back more than four centuries, and the Yew Tree Farmhouse is even grander, built in the 17th century when agriculture, as now, was a significant part of Chalton life. The ‘Bound Way’, an especially scenic path along the Chiltern Way borders Chalton along the south of the village. During World War II, Chalton was targeted by a German bomber, though the bombs fell upon fields close to the Bound Way, and the area fortunately escaped any damage.
In The Chilterns Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB), Bronze Age barrows and field systems, and Iron Age forts are visible across the landscape, as are fascinating modern sites, including Georgian-era sawpits and military trenches from the past century’s world wars. The regal history of the Chilterns is also visible in this landscape, not least in the village of Offley, where Offa, the 8th century King of Mercia is thought to have built a grand palace.
Luton’s history goes back over 250,000 years, to the first Paleolithic settlements at Round Green and Mixes Hill, though the town itself originated as a sixth century Saxon outpost, named in honour of the River Lea which runs through the town. During the Medieval period, the Manor of Luton passed through the hands of numerous nobles, at the behest of the King, and one of the most prominent, the Earl of Gloucester, commissioned the spellbinding Grade I listed St. Mary’s Church, completed in 1337, and developed throughout the late-Medieval period. This perfectly preserved church is still operating, and the graduation ceremonies for the University of Bedfordshire take place in this magnificent setting.
In the modern era, Luton has thrived as a centre of industry. Whilst a variety of products have been manufactured here, including the legendary Bedford trucks. Luton is best known for its manufacture of hats, a trade which still exists in the town, though during its peak in the 1930s, an estimated 70 million hats a year were produced in the town. When production switched from straw to felt, hats were exported from Luton to countries as diverse as Canada and Australia, as well as across Europe. The town’s Wardown Park Museum offers a fascinating insight into the trade, as well as a huge array of historical and modern hats and other headwear, as well as The Luton Guild Book, a medieval membership list of the Confraternity or Guild of the Holy Trinity at Luton, covering the period 1475 – 1546, and written on the hugely rare and expensive material Vellum.
Luton Hoo is perhaps the town’s grandest building, and this grand country house completed in 1774 has hosted guests including Queen Mary, Lord Mountbatten, and on their 1947 honeymoon, the Queen and Duke of Edinburgh. Its grounds were designed by world-renowned landscape architect Capability Brown, who worked on Kew Gardens and the gardens of Warwick Castle. The house is recognizable as a filming location in a variety of much-loved films, including ‘Four Weddings and a Funeral’, ‘The World is Not Enough’ and Stanley Kubrick’s ‘Eyes Wide Shut’.